Accreditation

Wake Forest University is a Member of or Accredited by:

AACSB International – The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business

American Association of Nurse Anesthetists

American Chemical Society

American Council on Education

American Medical Association, Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation

Association of American Colleges

Association of American Law Schools

Association of American Medical Colleges

Board of Law Examiners

Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs

Council of Graduate Schools

Council of Southern Graduate Schools

Council of the North Carolina State Bar

Council of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar of the American Bar Association

Council on Medical Education of the American Medical Association

Liaison Committee on Medical Education

National Association of Independent Colleges and Universities

National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education

North Carolina Association of Colleges and Universities

North Carolina Independent Colleges and Universities

North Carolina Conference of Graduate Schools

North Carolina Department of Public Instruction

Oak Ridge Associated Universities

Southern Universities Conference

Chronological History of Wake Forest University

| 1834 | Founded in the town of Wake Forest, N.C., as Wake Forest Manual Labor Institute in |
|------|--|
| | cooperation with the N.C. Baptist Convention |
| | |

- 1838 Named Wake Forest College
- 1894 School of Law established
- 1902 School of Medicine founded
- 1921 First Summer Session
- 1936 Approval of the School of Law by the American Bar Association
- 1941 Relocation of the School of Medicine to Winston-Salem and eventual change of name to Bowman Gray School of Medicine and association with the North Carolina Baptist Hospital
- 1942 Women admitted as undergraduate students
- 1956 Move to Winston-Salem in response to an endowment from the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation
- 1961 Division of Graduate Studies established
- 1967 Became Wake Forest University
- 1969 Babcock Graduate School of Management established
- 1986 Redefined the relationship with the N.C. Baptist State Convention
- 1995 Change of name to Wayne Calloway School of Business and Accountancy
- 1997 Change of name to Wake Forest University School of Medicine
- 1999 Opening of the Wake Forest University Divinity School